- Hawaii High School Athletic Association
NFHS Learning Center
Play Smart. Play Hard.

(Fri) October 31, 2008

HHSAA BOWLING: Kalani's Ajimine wins third straight bowling title; Falcon girls, Pearl City boys win team titles

Courtesy of Honolulu Advertiser

Kalani High School senior Dara Ajimine became the first bowler, boy or girl, to win three straight state titles in the Billy Tees/HHSAA Bowling State Championships today at Lihu'e Bowling Center on Kaua'i.

Ajimine helped the Falcons capture first place in the team competition, bowling a combined score of 7482, followed by Kapolei (7333) and Hilo (7090).

Ajimine bowled a 1752 (190, 195, 211, 230, 150, 201, 189, 186, 200).

Sacred Hearts' Venny Jean Turner came in second (1669) and Kapolei's Kimie Roller third (1583).

The Pearl City boys won their first title since 2001, and fifth overall, with a score of 8004. Waiakea came in second place with 7967 and Hawaii Baptist was third with 7740.

Baldwin's Corey Gushikuma won the boys individual title, bowling a 1788 (202, 159, 167, 246, 215, 203, 180, 213, 203). Jonathan Nakagawa of Kalani was second (1760) and Kealakehe's Bryson Apolo was third (1755).