DataHouse - Hawaii High School Athletic Association
NFHS Learning Center
Play Smart. Play Hard.

(Wed) October 13, 2021

Hawaii Sports Officials Hall of Fame Announces Call for Nominations for the Class of 2022

HONOLULU - The Hawaii Sports Officials Hall of Fame (HSOHOF) board of directors announced today asking the public and officials’ associations to nominate worthy officials for their fifth class of inductees.  Induction ceremony is scheduled for September 4, 2022.  Deadline for submission of nominations is December 31, 2021.
“We are extremely proud and excited to continue the process of recognizing Hawaii’s outstanding sports officials,” said Cal Evans, President of the Hall of Fame. “Similar to the outstanding performances of athletes, we believe the contributions of sports officials deserves a worthy place in our culture. They sacrifice their time and energy away from their families to give back to the community from youth to collegiate level sports.”
HSOHOF was founded in 2017 to promote public awareness of officials and their value to sports by recognizing and honoring Hawaii sports officials who have demonstrated the highest level of achievement, character, leadership and skill while contributing to their local official’s association.​
Nominees shall meet the following criteria:
  • Worked as a sports official while residing in the state of Hawaii.
  • Demonstrated a commitment to officiating over a significant period of time.
  • Contributed noteworthy service to officiating and to an official’s association.
  • Demonstrated a high level of achievement and skill at the level of sport officiated.
  • Demonstrated unquestioned character and integrity.
  • Avid supporters of the officiating community, who are not officials, may also be considered.
Nominees will be chosen by a 9-person selection committee comprised of members of the athletic community on both the interscholastic and collegiate levels, including retired and active officials and athletic administrators.

Nomination forms and instructions are available on the Hawaii Sports Officials Hall of Fame website at:

In September 2021, the third and fourth classes of the Hall of Fame was inducted via virtual ceremony due to statewide COVID-19 restrictions on large gatherings. The ceremony can be viewed on the HSOHOF YouTube page at  The class of 2020 includes: Jan Allen, Samuel Delos Reyes, Wayne Lee, and Matthew Sumstine. The class of 2021 includes: Hubert P. Minn, Gordon Scruton and Arnold S. Soma.


Board of Directors

Cal Evans, President – Thomas Yoshida, Vice President – Dan Bayne, Secretary/Treasurer
Lloyd Hisaka – Natalie Iwamoto – Leilani Okuda

1650 Ala Moana Blvd, Suite 2107, Honolulu, HI 96815 –